Brooklyn College English Department
Master of Fine Arts Program

Brooklyn College ImageJulie Agoos, Program Coordinator

Since its inception, the Brooklyn College Master of Fine Arts Program in Poetry has balanced a firm grounding in the history and tradition of the craft with cutting-edge experimental writing. Moderately priced and highly selective, this two-year program offers intensive workshops (limited to ten students), private tutorials, and courses in the history and craft of the genre.

Attracting a diverse student body from all across the country, it has graduated such writers as John Yau, Sapphire, Paul Beatty, David Trinidad, Star Black, Karen Kelley, Tom Devaney, and Anselm Berrigan. Brooklyn's "experimental tradition" is best exemplified by the late-modernist masters John Ashbery and Allen Ginsberg, both of whom taught in the program. Other teachers have included Mark Strand, William Matthews, Ann Lauterbach, Douglas Crase, David Shapiro, C. K. Williams, Susan Fromberg Schaeffer, Joan Larkin, and, more recently, Ron Padgett and Joshua Clover.

At present, the permanent staff includes Julie Agoos, author of Property (2008), Calendar Year (1996), and Above the Land (1987), for which she won the Yale Series of Younger Poets Award; Ben Lerner, author of The Lichtenberg Figures (winner of the Hayden Carruth Award from Copper Canyon Press, a Lannan Literary Selection, and one of 2004’s best books of poetry according Library Journal), Angle of Yaw (Copper Canyon, 2006, and a finalist for the National Book Award and the Northern California Book Award), and Mean Free Path (Copper Canyon, 2010); and Marjorie Welish, author of Word Group (Coffee House Press, 2004), Isle of the Signatories (Coffee House Press, 2008), Oaths? Questions? (Granary Books, 2009) and In the Futurity Lounge/Asylum for Indeterminacy (Coffee House Press, 2012).


If you have questions you'd like to ask students in Brooklyn College’s program, please feel free to contact any of the following, all of whom are currently or recently enrolled:

Eric Conroe —
Spencer Everett —
Daniel Friedman —
Tom Haviv —
Colin Kohl —
James Loop —
Sahar Muradi —
Carl Schlachte —